2727 Coworking Article
Montréal Coworking Parking Costs: Desk, Transit & Visitors
Montréal coworking parking cost guide for 2026: operator-published parking facts, street rates from $2.50 to $4.25 per hour, lot rentals, STM pass math and a car-day worksheet.

Summary
- 01Compare the desk charge, parking, transit on remaining days and visitor parking together. A lower desk price can disappear into extra driving costs.
- 02None of the nine operator rows publishes a price for its own parking. Treat an on-site spot as quote needed and obtain the price, availability, lease terms and guest rules in writing.
- 03In the hypothetical grid, a $330 monthly spot beats a $25 daily lot only above 13 car days a month. Occasional drivers should compare daily parking with transit on the remaining days.
- 04Street parking can cost less for short stays, but the posted rate, legal stay limit and maintenance restrictions govern. City and AMD maps do not show live availability.
- 05Visitor parking needs its own budget. No operator row states a guest parking tariff, and step-free travellers should check equipment status before travelling.
Inside this article
- 01Executive Summary
- 02Introduction and Background
- 03Parking Types, Contract Questions and the One-Minute Decision
- 04Comparative Context and Market Positioning: A Dated Site-by-Site Matrix
- 05Street Parking: Meters, Signs, Time Limits and Maintenance Caveats
- 06Rate Inputs: On-Street Hourly Rates, Off-Street Lots and Transit Fares
- 07Data Analysis and Evidence: Worked Scenarios and a Sensitivity Grid
- 08Visitors, Accessibility and Getting There Without a Car
- 09The Worksheet and the Operator Call Script
- 10Implications and Future Directions
- 11Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
- 12Conclusion
Executive Summary
A Montréal coworking desk that looks inexpensive can become a much larger monthly bill once a car is involved, and the size of the gap depends on three inputs: how many days a month someone drives, how long the car must stay, and whether the site's own parking is priced at all. This audit, dated November 8, 2026, read the public pages of nine operator rows (eight non-publisher rows across seven operators, with WeWork appearing twice, plus the publisher's own site) and the official city and transit sources behind street parking and fares. None of the nine operator rows publishes a price for its own parking. Entrepôts Dominion labels its parking "On-site Parking ($)" without a figure ([1]), and Nuage B says paid on-site parking is available without a rate ([2]). The publisher of this report lists an indoor spot on a 12-month lease at a site near Charlevoix metro, but no public price or availability, so that spot is treated as quote needed and is never assumed free.
Street parking has a published floor. The Agence de mobilité durable (AMD) applied new on-street rates from February 1, 2026 ([3]), and the hourly rate stayed at $4.25 in the sectors the agency names in the Sud-Ouest, Plateau-Mont-Royal and Ville-Marie (Table 2 shows the Sud-Ouest default at $2.50, with $4.25 only in its East sector) ([3]). The agency also states that the posted signs govern ([4]), so no single borough rate should be applied to every block. A resident-zone sticker should not be treated as a commuter solution, because the city says its Plateau-Mont-Royal daily permit does not give access to paid meter spaces, and meter eligibility for any other sticker should be confirmed with the borough ([5]).
Transit has a published ceiling. Fares changed on July 1, 2026 with an average indexation of 3 percent (Source: www.artm.quebec)) (Source: www.artm.quebec)), while the 1-trip and 2-trip titles were held (Source: www.artm.quebec)). The Zone A monthly pass is $110.00 on the ARTM grid, and the Zone A territory is the Montréal agglomeration (Source: www.artm.quebec)).
Regular (non-reserved) monthly permits at the downtown garages with published regular rates ranged from $255 to $330 per month in the sources read, with a $350 monthly figure for a WeWork-named structure and reserved permits priced higher in Table 2, and the daily figures were $21 to $25 across two garages and the WeWork-named structure ([6]) ([7]). Using hypothetical attendance of 20 workdays, the monthly transit pass costs $110 against $0 for no commute, and every car day on a $25 daily lot adds $25 while removing at most $7.00 of pay-per-ride transit. At 0, 4, 8 and 12 car days the combined parking-plus-transit outlay is $110, $210, $284 and $356 on a $25 daily lot. A monthly spot priced at $330 only beats the daily lot at more than 13 car days a month (14 or more). The practical rule: ask for the written monthly spot quote, then divide it by the cheapest daily alternative to find the break-even number of driving days.
Introduction and Background
This report examines one purchase decision: whether a coworking desk in Montréal remains practical once parking, legal length of stay, and visitor access are added to the desk charge. It is written for freelancers and small teams who choose a recurring workspace and for staff or clients who sometimes drive. It is not a visitor travel guide, and it makes no claim about parking demand. Search-demand data for this topic could not be obtained at the time of research, so nothing here should be read as a measure of how many people search for it.
The audit covers a small, deliberately selected sample: nine rows across Saint-Henri in the Sud-Ouest, the Plateau-Mont-Royal, Mile End, downtown Ville-Marie, the Saint-Laurent business park, and the area around Charlevoix metro. The publisher of this report, 2727coworking.com, is a direct provider of desks, private offices, meeting rooms, virtual offices and business addresses in Montréal, and appears as a row in the primary table for that reason. Its parking and pricing details come from the operator's own booking page as opened on October 3, 2026, and are not cited as evidence here. Every other operator fact was read on an operator's own page between the research dates stated in each table, and every public rate was read on an official source.
Three parking types are kept apart throughout, because they have different cost shapes:
- On-site contracted parking: a spot or access arranged with the coworking operator, usually under a lease with a minimum term.
- Nearby paid off-street parking: a commercial or municipal lot or garage that sets its own hourly, daily and monthly tariffs.
- Metered on-street parking: an hourly charge set by the City of Montréal and administered by the AMD, with time limits and restrictions that depend on the block.
A fourth input, public transit, is the benchmark against which any car-day is judged. The method is deliberately plain. Monthly cost equals the desk charge, plus parking per day times driving days, plus transit fares on the remaining days, plus visitor parking. The sensitivity grid in the data section uses hypothetical attendance counts of 0, 4, 8 and 12 car days, never an invented market average. All prices are pre-tax unless the source says taxes are included, and every figure is dated because operator pages and tariffs change.
Parking Types, Contract Questions and the One-Minute Decision
The one-minute decision starts with two numbers: how many days a month a car will be used for work, and how many hours it must stay each time. A freelancer who drives twice a month for client meetings faces a pay-by-the-hour question, and a team member who drives every workday faces a monthly-contract question. Those are different purchases with different risks. At the rate inputs in Table 2, the rough sorting is:
- 0 to 3 car days a month: treat parking as a per-day cost and avoid a monthly spot.
- 4 to 13 car days a month: compare the lot daily maximum with the street cost and the legal stay, and price transit on the other days.
- 14 or more car days a month: a monthly spot quote may win, but only with the lease terms in writing.
- Client-heavy months: budget visitor parking separately from member parking.
On-site contracted parking
The defining feature is a commitment. The publisher's own booking page, as opened on October 3, 2026, lists an indoor parking spot under a 12-month lease and does not publish the price or current availability in the opened text. For a decision, that means three items remain unknown until an operator replies in writing: the monthly price, whether a spot is free, and what happens if the member leaves the coworking plan before month 12. A 12-month commitment on a spot used 8 days a month is a different proposition from a 12-month commitment on a spot used every day, and the grid below shows why.
Other operators describe on-site parking more loosely. WeWork states that members have on-site parking ([8]) and adds that prices and rates vary by location ([8]). Swivl tells visitors that parking conditions at other locations vary and that they should confirm current options ([9]). Regus, which lists some centres with a parking amenity label, describes parking as something only some centres include ([10]). In each case the public page establishes that parking exists in some form, not what it costs, how many spaces there are, or whether visitors may use it.
Nearby paid off-street parking
This is the usual fallback, and it is the only parking type with published tariffs for most downtown sites. The AMD manages 75 municipal parking lots ([11]), but its lot page sends users to a map for location, hours and applicable rates rather than printing them ([11]). Commercial garages near downtown sites publish figures that are easier to use, shown in Table 2 below. Off-street tariffs also change over time: an AMD notice described annual indexation of lot prices ([12]), so any figure here is a snapshot.
Metered on-street parking
On-street parking is the cheapest option for a short stay and often the least reliable for a long one. The city states that parking on Montréal streets is permitted only if the restrictions on the signage are observed ([13]), and that maximum allowable parking times vary by borough and vehicle type ([13]). The next sections quantify this.
Contract questions to ask before signing
- Price and tax: what is the monthly price, and is it before or after sales tax?
- Term and exit: what is the minimum lease, can it be shorter than the desk contract, and what are the cancellation rules?
- Inventory: is the spot reserved or first come, and is a waiting list in use?
- Guest eligibility: can a meeting visitor park, for how long, and at what hourly or daily tariff?
- Access hours: does the spot work outside the coworking opening hours?
- Vehicle limits: are there height, size or electric-vehicle charging rules, and is charging billed separately?
- Check the rate and legal stay on the block before using street parking in the budget.
- A published hourly rate does not guarantee that a space will be available.
- Get the monthly price, availability and exit terms in writing before committing.
- A parking amenity listing leaves cost, capacity and visitor eligibility unresolved.
Comparative Context and Market Positioning: A Dated Site-by-Site Matrix
Table 1. Parking, metro access and published desk prices by site. Table 1 below summarizes what each selected operator publishes about parking, the nearest metro it names, and a published desk price where one exists. Operator pages were read on November 8, 2026, unless noted. A blank price means the operator publishes none in the text that was read; it does not mean the parking is free. No operator page read carried a "last updated" notice for its parking text.
| Site (neighbourhood) | Parking type and what the operator states | Parking price, lease, visitor rule | Nearest metro as stated by operator | Published desk price (pre-tax unless noted) | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2727 Coworking (near Charlevoix metro) | On-site contracted: indoor spot on a 12-month lease, per the operator's booking page | Quote and verification needed. Price and availability not published in the opened text; guest rule not stated | Charlevoix (Green line), per the booking page | Not tabulated here; see operator | Operator statement from its booking page, opened 2026-10-03; not independently verified, and no independent source was located |
| Entrepôts Dominion (Saint-Henri, Lachine Canal) | On-site, paid: "On-site Parking ($)" ([1]); parking also offered as a meeting-room add-on ([14]) | No price, spot count or visitor rule found on the pages read | Not named: "10 min walk from metro stations" ([14]) | Dedicated desks from $325/month (Standing Desk) ([15]) | 2026-11-08 |
| Nuage B (Saint-Henri) | On-site, paid: "paid parking is available on-site" ([2]) | No price or lease terms found | Place-Saint-Henri, "steps" away ([16]) | Dedicated desk $250 to $350 per month; $300 standard ([16]) | 2026-11-08 |
| IDEAL Coworking (Saint-Henri) | No parking statement on pricing or contact pages read | Not published | Not named | Hot desk $300/month; extra days $20 against $30 drop-in ([17]) | 2026-11-08 |
| Montréal CoWork (Plateau-Mont-Royal) | On-site: car parking at the rear via rue Drolet ([18]) | No price, member rule or visitor rule found | Mont-Royal, 2 minutes ([18]) | Day pass from $30 plus tax; flex desk from $275 per month plus tax ([19]) ([19]) | 2026-11-08 |
| Regus, 5455 De Gaspé (Mile End) | Amenity label "Parking" on the centre listing, no terms ([10]) | Not published | Regus: Rosemont, 7 minutes' walk ([10]) | Dedicated desk "From $245/mo" on Regus index (currency not stated) ([10]) | 2026-11-08 |
| WeWork Place Ville Marie (downtown) | On-site parking for members ([8]); a separate nearby structure is named ([20]) | Member parking "varies by location"; the named third-party structure is listed at 350 CAD/month or 25 CAD/day ([8]) | McGill, Bonaventure, Lucien-L'Allier | Day pass from C$54/day ([8]) | 2026-11-08 |
| WeWork 1010 Sainte-Catherine Ouest (downtown) | Indigo garage "in the building" ([21]) | No price on page | Peel, 200 m ([21]) | 2-person offices from C$740/month ([21]) | 2026-11-08 |
| Swivl Ville Saint-Laurent (business park) | On-site parking stated ([9]) | No price, lease or visitor terms | Not named; Swivl's Queen Mary site names Snowdon ([9]) | Day access from $25 ([9]); dedicated desk $379/month on annual term at its coworking page ([22]) | 2026-11-08 |
The matrix supports four readings. First, parking text is common and parking prices are not: the only dollar figures tied to a downtown site are those for a named third-party structure. Second, a listing's walking-time claim is only as precise as the operator's wording (the Mile End listing gives a seven-minute walk to Rosemont), so a metro claim needs confirming with the site. Third, desk prices alone mislead: a hot desk at $300 per month and a dedicated desk at $350 per month differ by $50, which equals two days of daily lot parking at $25. Fourth, absence of a parking line is not evidence of no parking. IDEAL Coworking, for example, simply says nothing on the pages read, and a phone call settles it.
The Entrepôts Dominion case is instructive. Its meeting-room bookings include access to the coworking space on weekdays during opening hours ([14]), and parking is presented as an add-on that can be requested ([14]). The operator's FAQ lists a guest-parking question, but the answer text was not retrievable, so guest parking at that site stays unverified. Currency also needs care. Swivl and Regus pages show a dollar sign without stating a currency, and WeWork states Canadian dollars. Figures in other currencies are not converted here.
A workable rule follows: a meter rate is a price per hour if a space exists, never a promise of a space.
Street Parking: Meters, Signs, Time Limits and Maintenance Caveats
Street parking in Montréal is administered by the AMD, a paramunicipal body, under rules set by the city. The agency's rate page states that parking periods and maximum time allowances are determined by the City of Montréal ([4]), and it invites drivers to refer to the rates displayed on parking signs or pay stations ([4]). Both the agency and the city warn that their maps do not show whether a space is free. The AMD map says it does not provide real-time information on availability ([23]), and the city's maps page says the interactive maps do not let users see if a space is available in real time ([24]). A workable rule follows: a meter rate is a price per hour if a space exists, never a promise of a space.
Time limits and the maximum legal stay
A cost worksheet needs a ceiling for lawful stay, because a cheap meter is worthless if the car must move in two hours. The city states that limits vary by borough and by vehicle type ([13]). Its borough-selectable limits page includes entries such as "Automobiles: no time limit applies, except if stated on signs" ([25]), but the borough headings did not survive in the text read, so no limit is attributed here to Ville-Marie, the Plateau or the Sud-Ouest. The reader must read the sign on the block. Paying by phone adds a constraint: the AMD's Mobicité app adds a 7 cent service fee to each transaction ([26]), and a session cannot be extended, so a driver must wait for it to end before buying another ([26]).
Street maintenance, winter and disabled-parking caveats
Restrictions can remove a space entirely on specific days. The city states that street-maintenance parking restrictions must be observed for the entire period on the signage, regardless of the weather ([27]). Some boroughs prohibit overnight parking between 1 a.m. and 7 a.m. from December 1 to April 1, except where signage authorizes it ([25]), and snow-removal signs go up the evening before ([28]). For members who need accessible parking, spaces on the city's map marked for reduced mobility are reserved for holders of a disabled parking permit issued by the SAAQ ([24]). A borough-reserved disabled zone requested through the city is not given priority during snow removal operations ([29]). A coworking member with a permit should still confirm a reserved or on-site spot with the operator.
Resident stickers are not a commuter workaround
A frequent misunderstanding is that a monthly sticker, such as the $120 Sud-Ouest zone sticker ([5]) valid for zone 50, Griffintown ([5]), gives meter access. The city's page gives the Sud-Ouest sticker's price and zones; the sentence that the sticker does not give access to paid on-street meter spaces appears under the Plateau-Mont-Royal daily permit, so meter eligibility for the Sud-Ouest sticker should be confirmed with the borough ([5]). Residents-only zones are a separate system, usually tied to where a person lives. One narrow exception appears in Outremont, where a rate between $26.74 and $38.99 per month applies to employees of a business located in Outremont, with an employer letter and the employer's certificate of occupancy required ([5]). Eligibility depends on the borough rules, so a coworking member should not assume it applies.
Using the city's open data
The AMD publishes a Places.csv file listing parking spaces with their coordinates, tariff and attributes ([30]) under the Creative Commons CC-BY 4.0 licence ([30]). This report did not extract or redistribute that file. The rates in Table 2 were read from the agency's rate page, which is the agency's own publication; attribution: Agence de mobilité durable de Montréal, CC BY 4.0 where its open data is used. Anyone building a block-level lookup from Places.csv must credit the agency and still check posted signs.
Rate Inputs: On-Street Hourly Rates, Off-Street Lots and Transit Fares
Table 2. Public rate inputs for street parking, lots and transit. Table 2 below collects the public rate inputs used in the worksheet. On-street rates were read from the AMD pages effective February 1, 2026. Off-street and transit figures carry their own source dates because operators do not update on the same schedule. The Angus sector of Rosemont/Petite-Patrie is shown with both language versions because they disagree, and the Sud-Ouest and Ville-Marie rows show that one borough can carry two rates.
| Item | Published rate | Basis and caveat | Source and as-of |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ville-Marie, default (downtown) sector | $4.25 per hour; East sector $2.50 | Hourly meter; signs govern | AMD, rates effective 2026-02-01 ([4]) ([3]) |
| Plateau-Mont-Royal | $4.25 per hour | Hourly meter; Mile End streets may fall under Plateau or Outremont | AMD, 2026-02-01 ([4]) |
| Le Sud-Ouest | $2.50 per hour; East sector $4.25 | Two rates in one borough; the page does not label Griffintown or Saint-Henri rows | AMD, 2026-02-01 ([4]) |
| Outremont | $3.50 per hour | Hourly meter | AMD, 2026-02-01 ([4]) |
| Rosemont/Petite-Patrie, Angus sector | $4.50 (English page) or $4.00 (French page) | The two language versions conflict; confirm at the meter | AMD, 2026-02-01 ([4]) ([31]) |
| Plateau Parcojour zones | $4.25 per hour or $12.25 per day | Specific zones only, Monday to Friday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. | AMD, 2026-02-01 ([4]) ([4]) |
| Place Bonaventure garage (downtown) | Regular monthly $330 with tax; reserved $480 with tax; $24 for more than 1 hour up to 10 hours | 750-space indoor garage; 2025 grid | Place Bonaventure, 2025 ([7]) ([7]) |
| Autoparc Stanley (downtown) | Monthly $255 (outdoor roof), $315 (non-reserved indoor), $375 (reserved indoor); $21 per 24 hours | Tax included; subject to change; event pricing differs | Autoparc Stanley, undated ([6]) |
| Complexe Desjardins (downtown) | Regular monthly $327.68 tax included; reserved section $502.44 | Reserved permits limited each month | Complexe Desjardins, undated ([32]) ([32]) |
| Impark, 2000 Peel | Monthly $284.50, non-reserved, 24/7 | Page undated; may be stale | Impark Montréal page ([33]) |
| Named structure near Place Ville Marie | $350 per month or $25 per day (CAD) | Third-party structure described by WeWork | WeWork page, undated ([20]) |
| STM/ARTM Zone A monthly pass | $110.00 | Unlimited rides in the Montréal agglomeration | ARTM grid, effective 2026-07-01 (Source: www.stm.info)) (Source: www.artm.quebec)) |
| STM/ARTM Zone A 2-trip title | $7.00 | Held unchanged in the 2026-27 grid; each passage valid 120 minutes | ARTM, 2026-07-01 (Source: www.artm.quebec)) (Source: www.artm.quebec)) |
| Zones A and B (for example Laval, Longueuil) monthly | $170.00 | Regular fare; reduced fares are lower | ARTM grid (Source: www.artm.quebec)) |
Three points stand out. The street rate at $4.25 per hour reaches the $25 daily lot figure after about 5.9 hours (25 divided by 4.25), so street parking is cheaper than that lot figure only for stays shorter than about 5.9 hours, subject to time limits. Monthly garage permits cluster between $255 and $330 for regular access in the sources read, and reserved sections cost more. And downtown garage rates here are mostly tax-included or from 2025 grids, so a reader should recompute from a current quote. As a historical anchor only, a 2012 survey table listed Montréal's median unreserved monthly rate at about $331 ([34]); because it is 14 years old, the survey is excluded from every calculation.
Transit pricing has a second layer. The fare changes took effect on July 1, 2026 (Source: www.artm.quebec)), with an average indexation of 3 percent across titles (Source: www.artm.quebec)). An employer program, OPUS and Cie, offers a monthly title at a discounted rate through a participating employer (Source: www.stm.info)), and the OPUS card purchase fee is not refundable (Source: www.stm.info)).
Data Analysis and Evidence: Worked Scenarios and a Sensitivity Grid
All examples below are (Hypothetical Example) unless a cell states a sourced figure. Attendance counts are assumed, not market averages. The assumed month has 20 workdays. Transit on non-driving days is the cheaper of pay-per-ride at $7.00 per round-trip day (two Zone A trips at $3.50 each, matching the 2-trip title in Table 2) and the $110.00 monthly pass. Parking cost per car day uses three sourced inputs: a $25 daily lot (the WeWork-named structure's daily figure in Table 1, within the $21 to $25 range of the downtown garages in Table 2), a 4-hour street stay at $4.25 per hour ($17.00), and an 8-hour street stay at $4.25 per hour ($34.00). The 8-hour street case assumes the meter applies all day and the time limit allows it, which the signs on a given block may not. The $4.25 input is not the rate for every Sud-Ouest block: Table 2 shows a $2.50 default for the borough and $4.25 only in its East sector, so a Saint-Henri street scenario should be rechecked at the meter.
Table 3. Monthly parking plus transit at 0, 4, 8 and 12 car days. Table 3 below shows monthly parking plus transit for 0, 4, 8 and 12 car days, before any desk charge.
| Car days per month (of 20) | Transit cost on other days | Lot at $25/day: parking, total | Street 4 h at $4.25: parking, total | Street 8 h at $4.25: parking, total | Monthly spot at $330 plus transit: total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | $110.00 (monthly pass) | $0 / $110 | $0 / $110 | $0 / $110 | Not purchased / $110 |
| 4 | $110.00 (16 days at $7 = $112, so pass) | $100 / $210 | $68 / $178 | $136 / $246 | $330 / $440 |
| 8 | $84.00 (12 days at $7) | $200 / $284 | $136 / $220 | $272 / $356 | $330 / $414 |
| 12 | $56.00 (8 days at $7) | $300 / $356 | $204 / $260 | $408 / $464 | $330 / $386 |
The grid is arithmetic on the sourced inputs, not a forecast. Parking cost per car day dominates transit cost per day by a wide margin: the transit saving from each additional car day is at most $7.00, while a car day costs $17 to $34 on the street or $25 in a lot. At 12 car days a month, the $25 lot totals $356 against $110 for transit only, a difference of $246. A $330 monthly spot costs more than the $25 daily lot until 330 divided by 25, or about 13.2 days, so it does not pay off at 12 car days (break-even 13.2 days). Against an 8-hour street stay at $34, break-even is about 9.7 days. Driving all 20 days on a $330 spot costs $330 with no transit, against $500 on a daily lot, so the monthly commitment wins only for near-daily drivers.
Desk plus parking: two worked cases
Case A (Hypothetical Example): a freelancer takes a dedicated desk at Nuage B for $300 per month pre-tax ([16]) and drives 8 days a month to a daily lot at $25. Parking is $200 and transit on 12 other days is $84. The monthly total is $584, against $410 with no car days ($300 desk plus the $110 pass), so car days add $174, or about 42 percent. The operator's own paid on-site parking ([2]) has no published price, so a written quote could change this result in either direction.
Case B (Hypothetical Example): a freelancer takes a Montréal CoWork flex desk at $275 per month plus tax ([19]) and parks on the street 4 days at 4 hours each. Street parking is $68 and transit is $110, for $453 against $385 without car days. The rear parking at that site ([18]) carries no published price or visitor rule, so the street figure serves only as a comparison point.
Case C (Hypothetical Example), visitors: a team hosts 6 client meetings a month of 2 hours each. A Nuage B 4-person room at $30 per hour ([2]) costs $60 per meeting, or $360 for six. Visitor street parking at $4.25 per hour is $8.50 per visit, or $51 for six, if the block has a meter, no closer limit than 2 hours, and no restriction that day. The visitor parking is about 14 percent of the room cost. If visitors must use a lot at $25, it becomes $150, or about 42 percent.
The 2727 spot (Hypothetical Example): because the price is unpublished, let the written quote be Q. The break-even number of car days against a $25 daily lot is Q divided by 25. If Q were $330, the break-even would be 13.2 days. The spot should be evaluated only after the 12-month term, the cancellation rule, and guest eligibility are in writing.
What the data cannot say
Three limits apply to every figure above:
- Inventory: the audit cannot show parking availability on a given day, because neither the AMD nor the city map displays live availability ([23]) ([24]).
- Demand: it does not measure how many members drive, and it makes no claim about parking-specific search demand.
- Vehicle costs: it excludes insurance, fuel, depreciation and the cost of the car itself, which would raise the car-day figure further.
Visitors, Accessibility and Getting There Without a Car
Visitor access matters because meeting clients often arrive once, for one or two hours, and do not hold a membership. The best-documented visitor option is metered street parking, where the hourly rate and paid periods can be looked up by clicking an icon on the city's map ([24]). For private garages, visitor policy is rarely published. Of the nine rows in Table 1, none states a guest parking tariff on the pages read, so the operator call script below treats it as an open question.
Metro access and step-free travel
Several selected sites name a nearby station: Place-Saint-Henri, Mont-Royal, Peel, McGill, Snowdon and Charlevoix. The metro station pages published by the STM show an elevator service-status section for Place-Saint-Henri (Source: www.stm.info)), Lionel-Groulx (Source: www.stm.info)) and Mont-Royal (Source: www.stm.info)). The Charlevoix page, at 2600 rue Centre (Source: www.stm.info)), shows an escalator status section (Source: www.stm.info)) and no elevator status section was seen; that is an observation about page structure, not an STM statement, so a member who needs step-free access should confirm Charlevoix directly with the STM. The STM advises checking the real-time status of equipment before travelling (Source: www.stm.info)).
Transit fares for the remaining days
For Montréal-island commuters, Zone A covers the agglomeration (Source: www.artm.quebec)). Suburban commuters from zones A and B pay more: the A+B monthly title is $170.00 (Source: www.artm.quebec)). Bus-only titles exist for riders who do not use the metro (Source: www.artm.quebec)), and an evening pass is valid from 6 p.m. to 5 a.m. (Source: www.artm.quebec)). The monthly pass is described by the STM as the most advantageous for frequent travel (Source: www.stm.info)), and the 2-trip title as good value for a round trip (Source: www.stm.info)).
Electric vehicles and tax notes
Charging is billed separately from parking at public sites: the Circuit électrique says that access to a charger in a paid lot requires paying the parking fee ([35]). On tax, employer-provided parking is usually a taxable benefit for an employee under federal guidance ([36]), and Revenu Québec treats employer reimbursement of workplace parking as a taxable benefit ([37]). It also describes cases where an employer's reimbursement of a transit title is not taxable ([38]). These are descriptions of official guidance; an employer or member with a specific arrangement should consult an accountant.
The Worksheet and the Operator Call Script
The worksheet turns the sections above into a repeatable calculation. Fill one column per site. Everything in square brackets is an input, and every input should be dated.
- Step 1, desk charge: [monthly desk or plan price], pre-tax and after-tax.
- Step 2, car days: [driving days per month] and [stay length in hours].
- Step 3, legal stay ceiling: read the sign on the block; if the permitted time is shorter than the stay, mark the street option "unavailable" and use a lot.
- Step 4, street cost: [hourly rate on the sign] times [billable hours] times [car days], plus the 7 cent app fee per transaction if paying by phone.
- Step 5, lot cost: the lower of daily maximum times car days, or monthly permit price if car days exceed permit price divided by daily maximum.
- Step 6, operator spot: [written monthly quote] plus tax, term, and exit rule; mark "quote needed" until received.
- Step 7, transit on remaining days: the lower of [remaining days] times $7.00 and $110.00 for Zone A; use the current ARTM grid for other zones.
- Step 8, visitor days: [visits] times [hours] times [rate], or the lot daily maximum.
- Step 9, total: step 1 plus the chosen parking line plus step 7 plus step 8; compare with the zero-car-day column.
Operator call script
Use the same questions for every site and log the date and name of the person who answers.
- "Is there on-site parking for members, and is the spot reserved or first come?"
- "What is the monthly price, is it before tax, and what is the minimum lease?"
- "Is the lease tied to the desk contract? What happens to the parking if the desk plan is cancelled?"
- "Is a spot available now, or is there a waiting list?"
- "Can a meeting visitor park, for how long, and at what rate?"
- "Is there a height or size limit, EV charging, or after-hours access?"
- "Can you confirm all of that in writing?"
- 01Count driving days and hours
Record driving days per month and the length of each stay.
- 02Check the legal stay
Read the sign on the block. Use a lot if the permitted time is shorter than the stay.
- 03Compare lot and operator prices
Compare daily lot costs with a monthly permit and obtain the operator quote with tax, term and exit rules.
- 04Total the full monthly cost
Add the desk, chosen parking, transit on remaining days and visitor parking. Compare with the zero-car-day total.
Implications and Future Directions
For a freelancer or small team, the main implication is that desk price and parking price should be compared on one line. In Case A the car-day charge ($200 for 8 days) exceeded half the desk price, and in the grid the $25 daily lot added $246 to the transit-only total at 12 car days. A desk that is $50 cheaper than another stops being cheaper if it implies two more daily-lot days.
Second, the lack of published parking prices is itself a finding. Of eight non-publisher rows, the only dollar figures tied to parking near a site came from a named third-party structure on a WeWork page (Table 1). A buyer should therefore treat any operator quote as the real price, and price comparisons across sites without a quote are guesses. Parking supply is also limited: one downtown garage notes that only a limited number of reserved permits are issued each month ([32]).
Third, rules and tariffs move. The AMD applied new on-street rates on February 1, 2026 ([3]), transit fares changed on July 1, 2026 (Source: www.artm.quebec)), and a lot operator may reprice with little notice, as one downtown operator notes about its own prices (Table 2). A worksheet built today should be recalculated at every renewal.
Future work that would raise confidence includes a block-level meter lookup built on the AMD open data with proper attribution, written quotes from each operator, and a current multi-year survey of downtown monthly rates, since the only survey found was from 2012. Any follow-up on demand should measure parking-related searches directly; the search data available at the time of writing could not.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Is there coworking in Montréal with parking?
Yes, several operators state some form of parking. Entrepôts Dominion ([1]), Nuage B ([2]) and Montréal CoWork ([18]) all mention it, as do Swivl and WeWork (Table 1). None publishes its own price in the pages read, so ask for a written quote.
How much does parking cost in downtown Montréal?
On the street, the hourly rate is $4.25 in the downtown sector of Ville-Marie, effective February 1, 2026 ([3]). Off-street, regular (non-reserved) monthly permits with published rates ranged from $255 to $330 in Table 2, while a $350 monthly figure and reserved permits cost more, and daily figures were $21 to $25 across two garages and the WeWork-named structure ([6]) ([7]).
What are monthly parking rates in downtown Montréal?
Autoparc Stanley lists $255 for an outdoor roof space and $375 reserved indoor ([6]). Complexe Desjardins lists $327.68 for a regular permit, taxes included ([32]). Verify the current figure before relying on either.
Is a coworking space near a metro station easier than driving?
Often, yes, for people who drive 13 or fewer days a month. Sites name Place-Saint-Henri ([16]), Mont-Royal ([18]) and Peel ([21]) as nearby stations. The Zone A monthly pass costs $110.00 (Source: www.stm.info)).
How does a STM monthly pass compare with parking?
In the grid, the monthly pass at $110 is less than five $25 lot days. At 4 car days a month, adding a $25 lot adds $100 to the transit-only cost. See Table 3.
Can visitors park at a coworking space?
Operators in this sample publish no guest tariff. Street parking with a meter is the documented alternative, but time limits vary by borough and block ([13]).
What is the cost of office parking per month, and can it be taxable?
Published monthly lot rates are shown in Table 2. Employer-provided parking is usually a taxable benefit federally ([36]); consult an accountant for a specific arrangement.
Conclusion
Whether a Montréal coworking desk stays affordable once parking is added depends on days driven and on the quote. At the published inputs, transit costs at most $110.00 a month in Zone A, a $25 daily lot overtakes the transit saving after the first car day, and a $330 monthly spot only pays off at more than 13 car days (14 or more). Street parking can undercut the lot for short stays, but time limits, maintenance restrictions and the absence of live availability make it unreliable as a plan for a full day. The audit found no operator price for its own parking in the pages read, including the publisher's indoor 12-month-lease spot, which remains quote needed. A buyer should use the worksheet, call each operator with the same script, get the answers in writing, and recalculate each time rates or the lease change.
External Sources (38)
About
2727 Coworking
Find a practical home for your work at 2727 Coworking in Montreal. Explore private offices, day workspaces and meeting rooms, plus business-address and virtual-mailbox services for your company.
2727 Coworking is a Montreal workspace and business-address provider. We serve people who need a place to focus, meet, run a small business or establish a professional mailing presence. Our website offers English and French information about workspace options and services, alongside educational resources for operating a business in Canada.
A workspace that fits the day
Our workspace options include private offices, day passes and desks, and a conference room. These formats help individuals and teams compare a dedicated office with more flexible ways to work or hold a meeting. Prospective members can explore the virtual tour, review current pricing and book a visit before choosing a workspace.
Business addresses and mail
2727 Coworking provides business-address and virtual-mailbox services. Our resources explain the documents and practical questions involved, including guidance for people outside Canada. Service eligibility, included features, availability and access arrangements should be confirmed on the applicable service page or with our team.
Resources for Canadian small businesses
We publish guides, research and planning tools about workspace decisions, business addresses and starting a business in Canada. Our incorporation research includes information for people inside Canada and abroad, with jurisdiction-specific material to help readers identify the next questions to investigate. These educational resources complement our workspace and address services; they are not individualized legal, tax or immigration advice.
Visit or contact 2727 Coworking
Explore private offices, day passes and desks, the conference room, business addresses and virtual mailboxes. Book a visit or contact the team to discuss your needs.
A business address alone does not establish tax residence, immigration status, banking approval or eligibility for a government program.
Disclaimer
This document is provided for informational purposes only. No representations or warranties are made regarding the accuracy, completeness, or reliability of its contents. Any use of this information is at your own risk. 2727 Coworking shall not be liable for any damages arising from the use of this document. This content was generated with assistance from artificial intelligence tools, which may contain errors or inaccuracies. Readers should verify critical information independently. All product names, trademarks, and registered trademarks mentioned are property of their respective owners and are used for identification purposes only. Use of these names does not imply endorsement. This document does not constitute professional or legal advice. For specific guidance related to your needs, please consult qualified professionals.