Direct answer
Newfoundland and Labrador is now one of the most permissive Canadian provinces on board composition: the Corporations Act's resident-Canadian director requirement, which had been 25% under section 174, was repealed outright with effect from 1 April 2022, so an NL corporation's board may be entirely non-resident. What the province did not relax is the address. Section 33(1) requires a registered office inside Newfoundland and Labrador, and the Registry states in two places that Canada Post outlets, UPS stores, Mailboxes Etc. and comparable retail outlets are not accepted as a registered office. Incorporation costs $300 on paper or $270 filed electronically through Companies and Deeds Online, plus $10 to reserve a name for 90 days. The annual return costs $100 and is due before the end of the corporation's anniversary month; missing it puts the company in a status of Not in Good Standing. Sales tax is a 15% HST, and corporate income tax is 2.5% on the first $500,000 of active business income and 15% above it.
What is actually different about Newfoundland and Labrador
Four differences here are structural rather than cosmetic, and each is developed in its own stage below: the director-residency rule was repealed by name [1] [2]; there is no business-names registry [13]; St. John's has no general business licence [31] [32]; and the Registry names the address types it refuses [5] [7].
| Question | Newfoundland and Labrador answer | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Who runs the registry? | Registry of Companies, Digital Government and Service NL, filing through Companies and Deeds Online (CADO) | [4] |
| Can a founder file directly? | Yes — CADO does incorporation, annual returns, director changes, name reservation, good-standing certificates | [12] |
| Incorporation fee | $300 paper, $270 electronic; $70 / $63 without share capital | [11] |
| Director residency | None; s. 174 repealed effective 1 April 2022 | [1] [2] |
| Minimum directors | One; three for a distributing corporation, two not officers or employees | [1] |
| Registered office | In the province, full civic address; retail mailbox outlets refused | [1] [7] |
| Beneficial ownership | Internal ISC register since 1 April 2022; not a public database | [1] |
| Annual filing | Annual return before the end of the anniversary month; $100 / $90 | [8] |
| Sales tax | 15% HST (5% federal + 10% provincial) | [17] |
| Corporate income tax | 2.5% on the first $500,000; 15% above | [15] [16] |
| Workers' compensation | WorkplaceNL; in a corporation, owners and directors are covered workers | [25] |
| Municipal licence | No general business licence in St. John's; activity licences and occupancy permits only | [31] |
Stage 1: choose the legal form
A business corporation is created by filing articles. The Registry's own case: a sole proprietor is "liable to the full extent of his or her personal assets for the liabilities of the business", while a corporation is "an entity separate and distinct from the shareholders whose liability is limited to the extent of the money invested" [10].
A corporation without share capital — the non-profit form under Part XXI — files Form 1a instead of Form 1, plus Schedule A of purposes and Schedule B on distribution of property, needs at least three directors, and cannot take a numbered name [5] [6]. Charitable registration is a separate CRA process.
A sole proprietorship or general partnership requires nothing at the Registry: there is no business-names registry [13]. Obligations are federal and sectoral instead — a business number, HST past the threshold, WorkplaceNL if there are workers, any licence the activity attracts. One fewer filing, not less regulation.
A limited liability partnership is open only to eligible professions under section 60 of the Partnership Act, needing a name ending in "LLP", a representative partner resident in the province, a full civic registered-office address there, and a consent letter from the profession's governing body [14].
A federal corporation lands back here anyway: the Registry treats a federal company as "by definition, an extra-provincial company" [9]. Trade-offs are in the federal versus provincial comparison.
Stage 2: clear the name
Unless you want a numbered corporation, get the name approved before filing. The Name Approval Policy, read with sections 4 to 13 of the Corporations Regulations, describes three elements: distinctive, descriptive and legal. Section 17 supplies the legal element — "Limited", "Limitée", "Incorporated", "Incorporée", "Corporation", or "Ltd.", "Ltée", "Inc.", "Corp." Names run to 200 characters and must begin with a letter or number: "No. 1 Computer Sales Ltd." passes where "#1 Computer Sales Ltd." does not [6].
Three traps. The search is provincial only — the Registry "checks for name availability within the province of Newfoundland and Labrador only" and tells you to ask other jurisdictions separately, so an NL approval is not a NUANS clearance. The index includes dead names: it covers NL corporations, non-profits, co-operatives, limited partnerships and condominium corporations, and "the name search includes all active and inactive names", so a dissolved company can block you. A family name needs consent unless the individual has a material interest — a director of that name qualifies [6].
The statute backs this: section 404 prohibits confusingly similar names without written consent and names implying a connection with the Crown, a government, a political party, a university or a professional association; section 405 lets the registrar refuse a name that is too general to be distinctive; section 403 lets the registrar reserve a name for 90 days, for a $10 fee [1] [11].
Stage 3: file the articles
Incorporation is three forms: Form 1 articles (or Form 1a without share capital), Form 3 notice of registered office and Form 6 notice of directors [10].
The articles carry the name, the city or town of the registered office — the full civic address belongs on Form 3 — the classes and maximum number of shares, and any restrictions on share transfers or on the business. Shares are without nominal or par value; an authorized-share ceiling is optional, limiting the directors' discretion to issue. By-laws are not filed with the articles, and a corporate incorporator must itself be in good standing [5].
Filing runs through Companies and Deeds Online, which handles incorporation, annual returns, director changes, name reservation, good-standing certificates and overdue returns, and takes Visa and Mastercard [12].
| Filing | Paper | Electronic |
|---|---|---|
| Reserve a name (90 days) | $10 | $10 |
| Certificate of incorporation | $300 | $270 |
| Incorporation without share capital (Part XXI) | $70 | $63 |
| Annual return, local share-capital corporation | $100 | $90 |
| Annual return, extra-provincial corporation | $200 | $180 |
| Extra-provincial registration, with / without share capital | $560 / $260 | — |
| Change of registered office or of directors | $10 | $10 |
| Articles of amendment | $50 | $50 |
Fees come from the Schedule prescribed by the Minister under the Act [11], with the $300 incorporation fee and $100 annual return independently confirmed on Registry pages [10] [8]. Confirm each amount at filing: the schedule is a scanned ministerial order signed in 2016, annotated "denotes fee change effective January 1, 2017". No processing time is published, so this guide gives no estimate — ask the Registry at 1-709-729-4834 [4] or use Business Navigation Services, the province's help line for regulations, licences, permits and inspections [34].
After the certificate issues, section 171 lets the first directors hold an organization meeting to make by-laws, adopt record forms, authorize the issue of securities, appoint officers and an auditor, and make banking arrangements [1]. That meeting, not the certificate, is what a bank will want to see.
Stage 4: directors, and the residency rule that no longer exists
Until 1 April 2022, section 174 was headed "Residency requirement" and subsection (1) read: "At least 25% of the directors of a corporation shall be resident Canadians." Subsection (3) grandfathered certain companies continued from the old Companies Act; subsection (4) disapplied the rule to a body corporate earning no income in Canada [3].
An Act to Amend the Corporations Act, SNL 2021 c. 26, assented to 16 November 2021, listed the change as "S. 174 Rep. — Residency requirement", enacted at clause 4 that "Section 174 of the Act is repealed", and provided at clause 10 that it "comes into force on April 1, 2022" [2]. The current consolidation prints the section as "[Rep. by 2021 c26 s4]". An NL board may therefore be entirely non-resident.
One trap: the Act still defines "resident Canadian" in section 2(y), and the 2021 amendment re-enacted that definition [1] [2]. Searching the statute turns up a live definition that reads like a live quota. It is not — the definition survives because other provisions use it, such as the power to restrict the issue or transfer of shares to persons who are not resident Canadians.
What still applies: at least one director, or three for a corporation whose securities are or were part of a distribution to the public, at least two not officers or employees of it or its affiliates (section 168); individuals, 19 or over, of sound mind, not bankrupt (section 172); and no share qualification unless the articles impose one (section 173) [1]. The Registry confirms no maximum number of directors, notes without-share-capital corporations need at least three, and requires Form 6 within 15 days of a board change for $10 [7].
The repeal did not remove the in-province registered office, and it did not touch tax: an all-non-resident board tends to place central management and control outside Canada, and non-resident control defeats Canadian-controlled private corporation status and the small business deduction with it — see the founder-from-abroad track.
Stage 5: the registered office Newfoundland and Labrador will accept
Section 33(1): "A corporation shall have a registered office in the province in the place specified in its articles." Directors may move it within that place; a different municipality requires articles of amendment; section 34(2) requires notice of an address change within 15 days. Section 36 requires the articles, by-laws, minutes, filed notices and both registers to be kept at the registered office or another place in the province designated by the directors, and section 35 requires the corporation to display its name at its head office and state it on contracts, cheques and invoices [1].
The Registry adds the rules that decide whether a filing is accepted. The articles name only the city or town, with the full civic address on Form 3 [5]. The office is where records are maintained and "the official address where the corporation may be served", and retail mail outlets "would not be accepted by the Registry as a adequate registered office address". Changing it costs $10 on Form 3 within 15 days, plus $50 for articles of amendment if the move crosses municipal boundaries. There is one sanctioned role for a mail service: "The registered office address form can also specify an alternate mailing address to receive correspondence from the Registry" — a correspondence field beside the registered office, never a substitute for it [7].
For a founder with no premises there, the Registry's own observation is the honest guide: a corporation without a physical office presence needs someone local, and "most corporations utilize the services of a local law firm" [9]. Budget it as recurring; see the business-address guide.
Stage 6: transparency and the ISC register
The province gained a beneficial-ownership regime the same day it lost its residency rule: clause 3 of SNL 2021 c. 26 inserted sections 45.1 to 45.5, in force 1 April 2022, and clause 8 added the offence provision [2].
Section 45.2 requires a register of individuals with significant control, kept at the registered office or another place in the province designated by the directors, recording for each: name, date of birth and latest known address; jurisdiction of residence for income tax purposes; the dates they became and ceased to be an ISC; how they are an ISC, including their interests and rights in shares; and each step taken to keep it current. At least once each financial year the corporation must take reasonable steps to confirm every ISC is identified and the register is accurate and up to date; new information must be recorded within 15 days; and personal information must be securely disposed of within one year after the sixth anniversary of an individual ceasing to be an ISC. Contravention without reasonable cause carries up to $5,000, and under section 503.1 directors or officers who knowingly record or provide false register information face up to $200,000 or six months' imprisonment, or both [1].
Two structural points. It is not public: section 45.4 requires disclosure to the registrar on request and gives shareholders and creditors access on affidavit. And public issuers are exempt under section 45.2(7) — reporting issuers, corporations listed on a designated stock exchange, and prescribed classes [1]. A federal corporation registered here keeps its separate, more public federal ISC obligations.
Stage 7: the annual return, and how a company quietly dies
Section 408(1) requires a corporation, each year, on the first day of the month in which the anniversary of registration, amalgamation or revival falls, to send the registrar an annual return with the proper fees; 408(2) requires a director, officer or solicitor to certify the contents; 408(3) lets the registrar strike the corporation off the register for neglect or refusal to file [1].
Operationally, a corporation "must file an Annual Return prior to the end of month in which the date of its registration, amalgamation, or revival, whichever is later, occurs", and those that have not filed by then "will be placed in a status of 'Not in Good Standing'". Notice goes out 60 days ahead, and the filing window is the three months up to the end of the anniversary month [8].
The fee is $100 paper or $90 electronic locally, $200 / $180 extra-provincial, nothing for a Part XXI corporation; late-filing fees were repealed from the 2005 return year, so the penalty is status, not money [11]. One caution: the Registry page still narrates the 2005–2006 filing-date transition and quotes $75 there, before stating the fee "increased to $100 per year commencing in 2017", which the Schedule confirms — read the $75 as a fossil.
Keep three obligations apart: the annual return is a registry filing about corporate facts, the T2 a CRA filing about income, the annual meeting of shareholders a corporate-law event. None discharges another.
Stage 8: tax registrations
Business number. CRA assigns a nine-digit BN with program accounts layered on it: RC for corporation income tax, RT for GST/HST, RP for payroll, RM for import/export. Registration paths differ for a resident with a SIN — including a temporary SIN beginning with 9 — and for a non-resident, which CRA defines to include a business incorporated or located outside Canada, an applicant whose SIN starts with 0, and an applicant with no SIN [24].
Sales tax is a 15% HST — 10% provincial plus 5% federal, the provincial part having risen from 8% to 10% effective 1 July 2016 — and CRA administers it, including collection, applications, rulings and interpretations [17]. There is no separate provincial sales tax and no provincial registration number: one RT account covers it, the practical advantage of an HST province. See the sales-tax comparison.
Registration is not automatic. The small-supplier threshold is $30,000 over four consecutive calendar quarters: exceed it in a single quarter and you register by the day you exceed it, effective "no later than the day of the supply that made you exceed $30,000"; exceed it across four quarters and you register by the end of the month following that quarter. Non-residents making taxable sales in Canada face the same thresholds, and taxi and ride-share drivers must register even as small suppliers [23].
Corporate income tax is 2.5% lower and 15% higher on a $500,000 business limit, the lower rate reduced from 3% effective 1 January 2024 [15]; the province puts it as "The reduced rate of 2.5% applies to the first $500,000 of active business income earned in the province" [16]. Stacked on the federal 9% and 15% rates, a qualifying small CCPC faces a combined 11.5% and a large corporation 30%. Unlike Alberta and Quebec, the province does not collect its own corporate tax — the federal government administers it on the province's behalf [22] — so one T2, no separate provincial corporate return. But 2.5% is a small business deduction rate dependent on CCPC status, which non-resident control defeats.
Stage 9: employees, payroll tax and WorkplaceNL
Federal payroll. Hiring means an RP account, source deductions of income tax, CPP and EI, and T4s [24].
Provincial payroll tax. The Health and Post Secondary Education Tax is 2% on annual remuneration paid in the province above an exemption threshold that "has been increased from $1.3 million to $2 million for all employers" as of 1 January 2023; associated or partnered employers must file an allocation agreement to share the single threshold [18]. Most small employers pay nothing — but related companies cannot each claim a fresh $2 million.
Workers' compensation. "All employers (a person or entity) who do business in Newfoundland and Labrador must register with WorkplaceNL", covering sole proprietors, partnerships, corporations, municipalities, associations and societies with full-time, part-time or casual workers, and extending to businesses that contract work in the province without direct employees. Exceptions are narrow: persons employed at a private residence, construction or renovation of private residences, and professional sports competition. Registration produces a Firm Number and a Newfoundland Industrial Classification (NIC) code that drives the assessment, with a minimum annual assessment of $50. The coverage rule for owners reverses the intuition: in a corporation, "all workers are covered, including the owners or directors, even if the owner is the only worker" [25]. In an unincorporated business, "a proprietor or partners of a non-incorporated business are not automatically covered"; to get coverage they complete an Independent Operator Questionnaire, classifying them as worker, employer or independent operator, then an Optional Personal Coverage Application returned with full payment [26]. Incorporating here therefore adds a mandatory workers' compensation relationship a sole proprietorship does not create. WorkplaceNL does not publish its rate table on the pages reviewed, so no percentage is quoted — the rate follows the NIC code.
Stage 10: municipal licensing
There is no province-wide general business licence, and the largest city has no general municipal one either. St. John's licenses activities — amusement machines, lodging houses, mobile signs, mobile vending, taxicabs, parklets, transient dealers — alongside building, electrical and plumbing permits, since "different activities in our community require different approvals" [31].
The fee schedule confirms the absence of an all-business licence: Amusement Machine operator's licence $500 per year plus $10 per machine; Lodging House $100 per year; Mobile Vending $100 to $500 by type; Taxicab Operator's Licence $100 per year; Transient Dealers $517.50 per year; Electrical Contractor $220 per year. The gate that catches ordinary businesses is occupancy, not licensing: a Change of Occupancy Permit costs $50, and a Conditional Occupancy Permit carries a $500 minimum reflecting outstanding items [32]. Moving into premises whose approved use does not match your intended use is the failure here — a planning question, so contact the Permit Counter before signing a lease.
Outside St. John's every municipality sets its own regime, and a sectoral provincial licence may sit on top — payday lending, high-cost credit and lodging are provincially regulated examples. Business Navigation Services maps this, offering one-on-one help on "provincial government regulations and programming", "required licenses and permits and inspection requirements", taxes, funding, staffing and immigration, at 1-833-404-2283 [34]. Its page does not say whether it is free, so this guide does not claim it is.
Stage 11: operating across provincial lines
Coming in. Section 433(1) is a prohibition, not a formality: "A domestic company or extra-provincial company shall not begin or carry on an undertaking in this province until it is registered under this Act" [1]. The Registry's list of what counts: an interest in land other than by way of security; an office or warehouse; being licensed or required to be licensed under provincial law; a Highway Traffic Act certificate of registration; carrying on an undertaking in any other manner; and having a telephone number listed in the telephone directory — a trigger unusually easy to satisfy by accident. Registration takes Form 24 statement for registration, Form 25 statutory declaration and Form 26 power of attorney, with home-jurisdiction constating documents witnessed by a notary or commissioner there [9]; $560 with share capital, $260 without [11].
Two continuing obligations follow: the corporation must maintain a registered office address within Newfoundland and Labrador, and section 440(1) requires a power of attorney naming an individual resident in the province to receive service of process and all lawful notices, with section 441 requiring a fresh one if that person stops living there [1]. The attorney is a person with continuing duties, not a mailbox.
There is no mutual-recognition shortcut: the province is not party to the western New West Partnership arrangements that simplify registration among Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Manitoba, so corporations moving either way file a full extra-provincial registration. A federal corporation is an extra-provincial company here, and Corporations Canada agrees that "Provincial and territorial legislation requires you to register your federal corporation in each province and territory in which it will conduct business", including where it has "an address, a post office box or a phone number" there [33]. Federal incorporation buys national name protection, not national registration — see the federal versus provincial comparison. Going the other way, an NL corporation operating in Quebec registers with the Registraire des entreprises for an NEQ (Quebec guide); Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island each set their own attorney-for-service rules.
Immigration streams tied to Newfoundland and Labrador
The Provincial Nominee Program runs five categories, two of them for entrepreneurs [27]. In both entrepreneur streams you build the business first and are nominated afterwards — nomination rewards operating, it does not licence starting.
International Entrepreneur Category
Expression of Interest, then Invitation to Apply. The province states that "The Expression of Interest system is currently open", that the candidate must start or buy a business and actively manage it daily, and must "Run the business for at least one full year" before nomination. There is "No fee to apply under this category", though federal fees apply to the work permit and permanent residence applications [28].
| Requirement | Threshold |
|---|---|
| Age | 21 to 59 |
| Education | Canadian high-school diploma or equivalent, ECA within the last 5 years |
| Net worth | $600,000 CAD in personal and business assets transferable to Canada |
| Investment | $200,000 CAD with at least 33.3% ownership, or $1,000,000 CAD in equity |
| Experience | 2+ years of ownership and management at 25%+ in the last 5 years, or 5+ years senior management |
| Language | CLB 5 or higher in English or French (CELPIP, IELTS or TEF) |
| Job creation | At least one full-time job for a Canadian citizen or permanent resident |
| Exploratory visit | Required if applying from outside the province |
Criteria as published [29].
International Graduate Entrepreneur Category
Tied to two named institutions. The candidate must have completed a degree or diploma of at least two years, full-time and in person, within the last two years, at Memorial University or College of the North Atlantic; hold a valid post-graduation work permit; be 21 or older; score CLB 7 or higher in all four abilities; hold at least 33.3% ownership with active management; and either run the business for a full year or take on an existing business run under the same owner for the past five years, with a business continuity plan and verified financials [30]. No net-worth or minimum-investment figure is published for this category, and none is supplied here.
Two honest warnings. No dated notice of an intake pause, cap or allocation figure for 2025 or 2026 appears on any official page reviewed, so none is stated; re-check both category pages on the day you apply. And incorporating an NL company confers no immigration status.
Provincial incentives
Most incentives arrive as tax credits through the T2, not grants.
- SR&ED tax credit — refundable, 15% of eligible R&D expenditures, for individuals, corporations and partners of partnerships conducting SR&ED in the province, under section 42 of the Income Tax Act, 2000 and administered by CRA; expenditures must qualify federally [19]. Refundability matters: a pre-revenue company with no tax to offset still receives cash.
- Direct Equity Tax Credit — a credit to the investor, not the company: 35% for qualifying activities outside the North East Avalon region, 20% within it, prorated where both apply, claimed by filing an official tax-credit receipt with the T1 or T2 [20]. Maximum credit, asset and employee ceilings and excluded sectors are not on that page — obtain the program guidelines before promising an investor anything.
- Manufacturing and Processing Investment Tax Credit — 10% of the capital cost of eligible property for corporations with a permanent establishment in the province, up to 40% refundable for a CCPC. Property must meet Atlantic Investment Tax Credit requirements and be situated in and acquired for use in the province, excluding Qualified Resource Property; unavailable for a taxation year ending before 7 April 2022; carry forward 20 years, back 3 [21].
If you are outside Canada
On paper this is one of the friendlier provinces for a founder living abroad, and the reason is narrow enough to state precisely.
What the repeal gives you. Since 1 April 2022 there is no resident-Canadian director requirement; the old rule — at least 25% of directors resident Canadians — was repealed by name [1] [2] [3]. A non-resident can be sole director and sole shareholder without recruiting a Canadian to the board, removing the commonest structural obstacle in quota provinces.
What it does not give you. Four things remain, each with a cost.
The registered office. Section 33(1) requires it in the province, at a full civic address, and the Registry explicitly refuses "Canada Post outlets, UPS stores, Mailboxes Etc. or comparable retail outlets" [7]. With no premises there you need a real local arrangement — the Registry's own guide is that companies without a physical presence generally use a local law firm [9]. Treat it as an ongoing professional fee, and get written confirmation the provider will accept service of legal documents — that is what the address is legally for.
The records. Sections 36 and 45.2 require the corporate records and the ISC register at the registered office or another place in the province. A minute book held only in London or Dubai does not satisfy that; confirm records custody in the engagement.
The ISC register. You must identify every individual with significant control and record name, date of birth, latest known address, jurisdiction of residence for income tax purposes, the dates they became or ceased to be an ISC and how control is exercised; refresh annually; record changes within 15 days [1]. Foreign holding structures do not stop the analysis — it runs to natural persons. The register is not published, but "not public" is not "not required".
Tax residence and CCPC status. Here the repeal can hurt. An all-non-resident board tends to put central management and control outside Canada, bearing on corporate tax residence, and non-resident control disqualifies a corporation from CCPC status — the gateway to the 2.5% provincial and 9% federal small-business rates [15] [16]. Easy to file can be expensive to run; take advice first.
Remote or not. You can reserve a name and file articles through CADO from anywhere, paying by Visa or Mastercard [12], and obtain a BN through CRA's non-resident path, which expressly contemplates a business incorporated or located outside Canada or an applicant with no SIN [24]; GST/HST registration follows the same $30,000 threshold for non-residents [23]. What you cannot do remotely is conjure the in-province address, the in-province records location, or — if you register an out-of-province corporation here instead — the individual resident in the province who must hold the power of attorney for service under section 440 [1].
Banking is the real gate, and not a corporate-law problem. No Canadian bank must open an account for a corporation whose directors and signers are all abroad, and none of the sources reviewed promises a remote opening. Expect identity verification for every director, officer, signer and beneficial owner, a coherent account of the business and its source of funds, and possibly attendance in person. Prepare early: opening a business account from abroad and the non-resident address guide, with per-bank checklists for RBC, TD, BMO, Scotiabank, CIBC and Desjardins.
And incorporating is not immigration. An NL corporation entitles nobody to enter, live or work in Canada; both entrepreneur categories require operating the business before nomination [28] [30]. Start with the founder-from-abroad track, or the resident track if you already hold status.
Failure modes
- Assuming a residency quota survives. The Act still defines "resident Canadian"; section 174 is repealed [1].
- Using a mailbox as the registered office. The Registry names the refusal in writing, twice — a rejected filing, not a grey area [5] [7].
- Missing the anniversary month. A day late means Not in Good Standing, and persistent failure lets the registrar strike the company off — so no certificate of good standing when a bank, landlord or buyer asks [8].
Maintenance calendar
| Frequency | Obligation | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Annually, by the end of the anniversary month | Registry annual return | $100 / $90; $200 / $180 extra-provincial; 60 days' notice; late means Not in Good Standing [8] [11] |
| At least once each financial year | ISC register refresh | Reasonable steps to identify every ISC and confirm accuracy [1] |
| Within 15 days | Record ISC changes; file Form 3 or Form 6 | $10 per notice; a new municipality also needs $50 articles of amendment [7] |
| Annually | T2 corporation income tax return | Filed with CRA, which administers NL corporate tax [16] |
| Monthly, quarterly or annually; each pay period | GST/HST on the RT account; source deductions on the RP account | 15% HST [17] [24] |
| Annually | Payroll tax if remuneration exceeds $2 million | 2% above the threshold; allocation agreement if associated [18] |
| Annually | WorkplaceNL employer statement and assessment | Minimum $50; rate follows the NIC code [25] |
| As required | Municipal activity licences and occupancy permits | Where the activity attracts one [32] |
Readiness checklist
- The legal form is chosen, the name has distinctive, descriptive and legal elements, is under 200 characters, and is reserved for $10 if you are not filing immediately — plus a search outside the province if you will operate outside it.
- A real full civic address in the province is arranged — not a retail mailbox — with written agreement to accept service, and the in-province records location is agreed.
- Directors are individuals, 19 or over, not bankrupt; no residency quota applies; Forms 1 (or 1a), 3 and 6 are complete, the fee is confirmed in CADO on the day of filing, and the organization meeting is scheduled.
- The ISC analysis reaches natural persons through every layer, and the anniversary month is in a calendar with a reminder 60 days out.
- BN plus the required RC, RT and RP accounts are registered, the $30,000 HST threshold is monitored, WorkplaceNL registration is done or an exception confirmed in writing, and occupancy is settled before the lease is signed.
- If any owner is outside Canada, tax residence and CCPC status have been reviewed by an adviser.
What 2727 can and cannot support
2727 Coworking is in Griffintown, Montreal. Nothing here claims that any registry, bank or government agency "accepts" a 2727 address.
A 2727 address is not a Newfoundland and Labrador registered office and cannot be made into one. It fails twice over: section 33(1) requires the registered office to be in the province, and a Montreal address is not; separately, the Registry refuses retail mail-handling addresses of any kind for that purpose [5] [7]. Nor can 2727 be the individual resident in the province who must hold an extra-provincial corporation's power of attorney for service under section 440 [1] — that is a person with continuing legal duties. For an NL corporation, the Registry's own suggestion of a local law firm is the route [9].
What a Montreal address legitimately can be: a registered office for a federal or Quebec corporation, where role and province match (federal-corporation scenario); a mailing or correspondence address for anyone — the province even provides the field, since the registered-office form "can also specify an alternate mailing address to receive correspondence from the Registry" [7]; and a workspace and meeting address for a company whose operations are actually here.
If the business is genuinely in Newfoundland and Labrador, arrange the address there. If it is in Montreal and an NL incorporation appealed for its permissive board rules, read the federal versus provincial comparison first. The business-address guide keeps each role truthful; the start-a-business hub links both tracks.
Research method and limitations
Verified 6 September 2026. Every fee, rate, threshold, deadline and statutory section was read from the publisher's own page or document on that date.
Tools. The preferred discovery tools were unavailable: the Exa endpoints returned HTTP 402 credit-limit errors and the session's web-search budget was exhausted. Discovery was therefore done by fetching official index pages and following their own link lists, and all reading by direct page fetch, so every URL cited was reached from an official landing page — assembly.nl.ca, gov.nl.ca, workplacenl.ca, stjohns.ca, canada.ca, ised-isde.canada.ca — never from a search snippet. CanLII returned HTTP 403, so the Corporations Act was read from the House of Assembly's own consolidation, downloaded in full and searched section by section. The pre-repeal text of section 174 is quoted from an Internet Archive capture of that consolidation taken 29 July 2020, used only to state what the repealed provision said; the fact of repeal rests on the current consolidation and the amending statute.
Not tested. No incorporation filed, no name reserved, no fee paid, no WorkplaceNL registration submitted, no Expression of Interest entered, no bank approached.
Explicitly unverified. The Registry publishes no processing time or service standard. CADO does not state which searches are free. The Direct Equity Tax Credit page carries the 35% and 20% rates but not the maximum credit, asset caps, employee thresholds or excluded sectors. No dated NLPNP intake pause, cap or 2025–2026 allocation figure was found on any official page. WorkplaceNL publishes neither its assessment rate table nor a penalty for failing to register. Whether Business Navigation Services is free is not stated. The Schedule of Fees is a scanned 2016 ministerial order annotated as last changed effective 1 January 2017; confirm its amounts in CADO at filing.
This is educational planning material — not legal, tax, accounting, immigration or banking advice, and it creates no professional relationship. Confirm every figure with the Registry of Companies, CRA, the Department of Finance, WorkplaceNL, the Office of Immigration or your own advisers before acting.
Frequently asked questions
Does Newfoundland and Labrador require Canadian-resident directors?
No. Section 174 of the Corporations Act, which required at least 25% of directors to be resident Canadians, was repealed by SNL 2021 c. 26 with effect from 1 April 2022. A board may now be entirely non-resident. [1] [2]
What does it cost to incorporate, and how long does it take?
$300 on paper or $270 electronically through CADO, plus $10 to reserve a name; $70 or $63 without share capital. The Registry publishes no processing time, so this guide gives no estimate — ask it at 1-709-729-4834 or use Business Navigation Services. [11] [4] [34]
Can I use a mailbox service as my registered office?
No. The Registry states that Canada Post outlets, UPS stores, Mailboxes Etc. and comparable retail outlets are not accepted, and section 33(1) requires the office to be in the province at a full civic address. You may separately give an alternate mailing address for Registry correspondence. [5] [7]
Do I have to register a business name for a sole proprietorship?
Not with the Registry of Companies — the province's registry list contains no business-names registry. Your obligations are federal and sectoral: a business number, HST once you cross $30,000, WorkplaceNL if you have workers, and any licence your activity attracts. [13] [23]
When is the annual return due, and what happens if I miss it?
Before the end of the month in which the anniversary of registration, amalgamation or revival falls. Miss it and the company is placed in a status of Not in Good Standing; the registrar may ultimately strike it off. Late fees were repealed from the 2005 return year, so the penalty is status rather than money. [8] [1]
What sales tax applies, and when must I register?
A 15% HST — 5% federal plus 10% provincial — administered by CRA. Registration is required once you exceed $30,000 in taxable supplies over four consecutive calendar quarters, or immediately if you exceed it within a single quarter. [17] [22]
Does my federal corporation need to register here, and do I need WorkplaceNL?
If it carries on an undertaking in the province, yes — a federal company is an extra-provincial company by definition, and registration costs $560 with share capital plus a power of attorney naming a resident of the province. Separately, in an incorporated entity WorkplaceNL covers all workers including owners and directors, even a sole owner-worker. [9] [33] [25] [26]
Can incorporating here help me immigrate?
Not by itself — incorporation confers no immigration status. Both entrepreneur categories require you to operate the business before nomination, one full year in the International Entrepreneur category, alongside net-worth, investment, ownership, language and job-creation criteria. Re-check intake status on the day you apply. [27] [29]
Official references
- Newfoundland and Labrador House of Assembly: Corporations Act, RSNL 1990 c. C-36
- Newfoundland and Labrador House of Assembly: An Act to Amend the Corporations Act, SNL 2021 c. 26
- Internet Archive capture of the Corporations Act consolidation, 29 July 2020 (pre-repeal s. 174)
- Digital Government and Service NL: Registry of Companies
- Registry of Companies: incorporating a company
- Registry of Companies: name approval policy
- Registry of Companies: notices of registered office and directors
- Registry of Companies: annual returns
- Registry of Companies: extra-provincial registration
- Registry of Companies: benefits of incorporation
- Service NL: Schedule of Fees prescribed under the Corporations Act
- Companies and Deeds Online (CADO)
- Digital Government and Service NL: registries index
- Registry of Limited Liability Partnerships: LLP registration
- Canada Revenue Agency: corporation tax rates
- Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Finance: corporate income tax
- Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Finance: Harmonized Sales Tax
- Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Finance: Health and Post Secondary Education Tax
- Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Finance: Scientific Research and Experimental Development tax credit
- Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Finance: Direct Equity Tax Credit
- Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Finance: Manufacturing and Processing Investment Tax Credit
- Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Finance: business tax programs
- Canada Revenue Agency: when to register for and start charging the GST/HST
- Canada Revenue Agency: register your business
- WorkplaceNL: register my business
- WorkplaceNL: types of coverage
- Newfoundland and Labrador Office of Immigration and Multiculturalism: NLPNP overview
- NLPNP: International Entrepreneur Category overview
- NLPNP: International Entrepreneur Category eligibility criteria
- NLPNP: International Graduate Entrepreneur Category eligibility criteria
- City of St. John's: apply for a permit or licence
- City of St. John's: permit and licence fees
- Corporations Canada: register a federal corporation in a province or territory
- Newfoundland and Labrador Business Navigation Services
